GEARS

gear-face-cant-stop-thinking

There is no NOT  thinking of you.

No vacant space to steer my attentions to and idle mindlessly for a bit.

I am at times able to shift gears; to alter the speed at which thoughts of you occur,

but eventually the level of effort I must maintain to do this creates tension, which wears down my mechanisms.

I’m built tough, but unable to withstand the prolonged intensity expended in such an activity.

Besides, my apparatus was designed to give a specific output level of power and velocity.

Tooling around in second gear with you, just isn’t my style.

© 2016 AMY CONTON

Comments

