Just when I thought I was out, SEAL pulls me back in.

SEAL COVER

It’s the Brit n’ Black thing I think…

I figuratively obliterated Seal from my conscious thought, once he decided to fall in love with model Heidi Klum, get married and have all those freakin’ kids.

How foolish!

So hmmm, let’s see: marriage between a supermodel and a rock star? Why, the odds of them remaining happy-ever-after are extremely favorable — said no one EVER!

Some people just need to understand their role in the Grand Scheme of Things. Obviously, Seal’s is to wander aimlessly across the globe singing about unrequited love, searching for but alas, never finding his true soulmate. A sexy, 21st century, lovelorn, heartbroken, troubadour if you will.

Now, after barely 7 years of marriage, three kids, yearly marriage vow renewals and hundreds of kissy-face photos later, he’s divorced. Well, I hoped you’ve learned your lesson man.

SEAL AD IN MTAA

Seal in the subway.

I first began to focus on the Man Who Is Seal right after his 2nd album, SEAL II dropped in 1994. I’d heard ‘Kiss From A Rose’ ad nausea, loved his voice but never took the interest any further. It wasn’t until after the album drop was proceeded by a barrage of photo campaign ads using the provocative photo art from the CD’s  cover, that I began to sit up and pay more attention to the British soul singer and songwriter.  I saw the ad for the first time as I was stepping off the No. 6 train on my way home from work one evening. As I walked toward the exit sign that led to the street my eyes riveted to a large ad plastered, back then, directly onto the subway’s tiled wall. “Who-in-the-hell’s gorgeous body is that!?” I practically yelled out loud.  The next day, I popped into HMV  (remember when you could just go to a record shop to get some music?) on 34th street to score the CD, and the rest, as they say is history.

And now, 21 years, 30 million album sales, four Grammy awards and three BRIT Awards later, Seal has reunited with the legendary producer Trevor Horn for his new album, ‘7’, which will be released on November 6th.

The album is Seal and Trevor’s first collection of original material since 2003, which included such hits as ‘Human Beings’, ‘Kiss From A Rose’, ‘Killer’, ‘Waiting For You’ and ‘Crazy’.  IMHO, Seal is at his best when he’s singing music written expressly for him. In the recent past he did quite a few covers from old school crooners like  Al Green, Smokey Robinson, Jackie Wilson and even James Brown’s ‘It’s A Man’s World’, which I liked!

But Seal’s style has never been the gut-wrenching rhythm and blues/soul stylings of his American counterparts as much as a more light, surreal, contemplative, quietly yearning kind of groove. So for me, his r&b ‘cover’ albums weren’t as delectable as his original music.

And as usual — thank goodness! — ‘7’ sets out to explore Seal’s seemingly never-ending preoccupation with his favorite topic: crazy, wonderfully exquisite Love!

About the album, Seal says;

“I tried to capture all of the wonderfully different dynamics of love, whether it’s the anger, the acceptance, the bliss, the sadness, the elation, or the recklessness. It’s this emotion and the ways it makes us feel. It’s about the extreme joy and the extreme regret as well as all of the crazy things love makes us do.”

I’m already in love with newly released cuts, ‘Everytime I’m With You’ and ‘Do You Ever’. The man knows of what he speaks.

*CHECK OUT NEW CUTS FROM SEAL’S ‘7’ CD AND SOME CRAZY CUTS FROM HIS PAST ALBUMS.

One response to “Just when I thought I was out, SEAL pulls me back in.

  1. Pingback: Just when I thought I was out, SEAL pulls me back in. | greatestmusicalbums

Comments

