I LIED

(a lament)

didn’t have the heart to tell u
that i couldn’t play by the rules
didn’t have the heart to tell u
love and i have always been fools together

told u what u wanted to hear
told u “baby please, have no fear”
said that i could handle a stand
didn’t want to make no demands
i lied and said…

love is not important to me
love can’t give me security
love’s just not important to me
what’s it ever given me?

u had ur game plan all written down
in a coup’la years ur name will be all around town

a claim to fame is all that u seek
no time for things that can make u weak
the thing was just to have a little fun
there was no pressure, was no gun
thought i was the more modern kind,
detach my body from my mind
i lied and said

love is not important to me
love can’t give me security
love’s just not important to me
what’s it ever given me?

can handle life without love, so i said
and u really thought i meant it (lol!)
one night with u was all that it took
if i could take it back i’d do it
instead i lied and said…


© 1992 AMY CONTON

Comments

